When God Whispers to Our Heart:

There are moments of regret that I experience from time to time…
They are inescapable, unforgettable, and their memory forever etched into my mind…
These moments are few but so powerful for they have to do with my own ignorance…

I pray so often that God will draw near to me…
I pray that in some divine way that He will speak to me..
And yet I forget that when He speaks I am not always responsive…
I pray and petition yet when the answer comes I don’t always praise…
I ask, seek, and knock then the door opens and I am far away…

When God whispers to our heart it is a soft and gentle touch…
A notion that is often dismissed because we don’t focus on Him enough…
It may not be a brilliant staircase as Jacob saw…

We may not be blinded by light on the road as was Saul..
Yet when it happens, we often deny the occurrence…

We turn to earthly reasons rather than His blessed assurance…
We say, Oh that’s my conscience or merely coincidence…
And then the answer comes, something happens, and our reasons are silenced…
For what has happened there is no answer other than God Himself…
We realize, He spoke, He answered yet we trusted in something else…
Think of how disappointed and broken His heart must be..
Yet He continues to pour out His love & mercy for you and for me…

When an unexplainable voice gives you guidance…
Don’t dismiss it, be distracted, or try to defy it…

The whisper of God will be gentle and point you to Him…
It will be nothing that tempts you or causes you to sin…

Listen and pray every moment of every day…
So you may not live with the regret of missing the words He might say…

For we have felt His presence and dismissed his tender touch..
For we have fallen short and have missed a moment that He predestined for us…

He still speaks, but do we care enough to listen…
Let us seek Him and not dismiss Him..

God Bless,
Andy J. Starnes

Leave a Reply

