Fire Service Prayers & Benedictions:An adaptation of Footprints in the Sand:

There is a story about a firefighter who was walking through all the incidents of his life with God. 

At one point, they stopped, and looked back at his life, represented by the footprints left in the ashes. There was two sets of footprints, side by side. One was the firefighter’s and the others was God’s. 

But then, the firefighter began to notice that at those places in his life where he faced great adversity, pain, and disappointment, there were only one set of footprints instead of two. The firefighter felt that God had stopped walking with him when he needed Him most.

The firefighter turned and angrily asked why it was that when he needed God the most in the troubled times of life, that God had abandoned him.

God smiled and said:

“My child, I didn’t abandon you in the most desperate times, it was then, that I picked you up and carried you on.
As you have carried others through the fire so I have carried you”

Remember I told you my child:

“When you pass through the waters,
I will be there with you;
And when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you.
When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.
For I am The Lord your God,
The Holy One of Israel, your Savior.” (Isaiah 43:2-3)

Jesus said to him “And you stand before Me now as I promised safe and sound.”

The firefighter looking back at all the trials in his life realized that God had never left him nor forsaken him. 

He looked at Jesus with a tear rolling down his cheek and said “I trusted the brotherhood to never leave me in a moment of need, yet I doubted you while I said I believed. Can you forgive me Lord.”

Jesus turned and shouldered the firefighter while saying I forgave you while on the cross long ago. You accepted that gift, your heart tells Me so. I promised I would “never leave you nor forsake you” my friend; now let me show you heaven as I carry you in.”

If you ever doubt and feel angry at God. Open your heart and tell Him for He knows what your thinking. Be Honest with the One who made you and while you are praying May you come to know that He has saved you.

We never walk alone..He is always with us.
God Bless,
Andy J. Starnes

Leave a Reply

